Creamy Pesto Chicken Pasta

If you have been reading my previous post on recipe, where I prepared salad for my serious foodie friend Kirby, this current post is a continuation of the previous one. But if you haven’t read it, just click here to know what’s my first dish I prepared.

Both of us love pasta and we’re always in the search of various pasta dishes around town. But if we can’t find one that satisfy our taste buds, might as well prepare one at home. So we did. Well, the actual situation was, I did. He just sits, and watched and waited to be served. -.-‘

So, grab your shopping bag and head on to the grocery store cause you’ll be need these ingredients for your Creamy Pesto Chicken Pasta (4 Ingredients).

1. 400 grams of spaghetti (RM 4.90).
There are varieties of pasta available. You can use other types of pasta like fettuccine or capellini (literally angel hair).

2. 300 grams of chicken breast, cut into bite sized pieces (RM 4.30).

3. 1 1/4 cups of heavy cream (RM 15.90).
I used Anchor’s extra yield cooking cream which I bough at Merdeka Supermarket.

4. 1/4 cup of basil pesto.
Now, here’s the thing, there aren’t any basil pesto on the shelves of supermarkets. What to do? Prepare your own of course (which requires other ingredients like basil (obviously), Parmesan cheese, walnuts/hazelnuts, lemon juice, extra virgin olive oil and garlic). How? Visit Pick Your Own for the steps of preparing your basil pesto. 

The measurements given serves four. Okay, let’s get to work!

1. Cook your spaghetti until al dente in a pot of salted boiling water. Why salted? Because the ‘salt water’ will fuse into the pasta which gives your pasta taste. You can also use chicken stock if you want.

2. Brown your chicken in a pan.

3. Add cream and pesto, simmer for five minutes.

4. Drain your spaghetti, add it into the pan and toss well.

Serve warm, and it’s optional to sprinkle your pasta with Parmesan cheese like I did.

How does it taste? Well it’s creamy, complimented with the taste of the basil. In other words, it’s delicious! You gotta try out for yourself!

What’s for desert? Patiently wait for the next entry. 🙂

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “Creamy Pesto Chicken Pasta

  1. Cuyung says:

    J!! Masak this! Bawa on sunday kc rasa sia xP

  2. […] great desert. And so, I served poached pear for desert when my friend Kirby went to my house (click here to know what other dishes I prepared for my Kirby when he came to my […]

Leave a Reply

