I Am My Father

I always wonder how I would hold my son
Swim at the beach under the summer Sun
Be at his side when he learns how to shave
And no matter what comes, I’ll tell him to be brave
Share with him on life and girlfriends
Not just a father, but I’ll be his best friend
I’ll cheer for him on his football game
Or just sitting together, laughing on jokes so lame.

I promised myself that I would never be
Like the father I had when he raised me
Raised my son like how I wanted to be
But I am afraid that would never be
Because on the mirror is not just a reflection of me
I am my father and my father is me.

Leave a Reply

